Search form

Who We Are

The Community Tool Box is a public service of the University of Kansas. It is developed and managed by the KU Center for Community Health and Development and partners nationally and internationally. The Community Tool Box is a part of the Center’s role as a designated World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Community Health and Development. We are especially grateful to our funders and contributors.


The Community Tool Box Team includes Center for Community Health and Development staff who share overall responsibility for developing, coordinating, and sustaining activities of the Community Tool Box. Its members include:

Christina Holt

Stephen Fawcett

Vincent Francisco

Jerry Schultz

Bill Berkowitz

Tom Wolff



CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator logo Healthy People 2020 logo Charter Tool Box logo World Health Organization Regional Office for Africa logo
County Health Ranking and Roadmaps logo Unnatural Causes logo Institute of Medicine logo
SCRA Logo KU School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures logo PAHO World Health Organization logo




“Because of the invaluable role that the Community Tool Box played in our foundation’s work and the power it has in providing guidance for local initiatives, the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation was pleased to contribute to its long-term sustainability. Investing in the Community Tool Box is a unique way to make a lasting contribution to communities worldwide.”

John Damonti, President, Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation

The Community Tool Box has been created and sustained through grants and donations at the private, university, and corporate level. Our generous sponsors assure tools for change for communities worldwide. With their generous contributions, people on a local and global level can more effectively engage in community work, learning to assess, plan, evaluate, and sustain their efforts.

Many thanks to the following sponsors of the Community Tool Box:

Kansas Health Foundation logo Robert Wood Johnson Foundation logo MacArthur Foundation logo
KU Center for Community Health and Development logo Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation logo




Please contact Christina Holt, Director of the Community Tool Box, at or call (785) 864-0533 to discuss partnering or giving opportunities.